Skip to main content

Databases: About Databases

A guide to available databases for students, faculty, and staff of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Prescott Campus.

Hazy Library Databases

We offer you over 90 databases to support your research needs.  Go to the Database tab above for an alphabetical listing of all databases.  If you're looking for a database for a subject area, use one of our subject guides.

 

Database FAQs

What is a database?
The Hazy Library subscribes to magazines and journals, newspapers, and books in electronic format which can be found in databases. 

What's the difference between HTML full-text, PDF full-text, and an abstract?
HTML full-text is the text of an article as a web page. Some articles in this format do not provide original charts, data, or photographs that appeared in the original article.  If this is the case, there generally there is a note indicating that this information was omitted.

PDF full-text is an electronic version of the original article or a scan of the article.  In either case, the article appear exactly as they were printed in their original format.  This means that any charts, data, or photographs will appear in this version of the article. 

Abstracts do not provide full-text of an article, only a brief summary of the article content.  It will also provide citation information which includes the article author(s) and title, journal title, volume, issue number and pages.

The article I want' is available in full-text, what do I do now?
The first step is to check if the article is in a magazine or journal that the library owns.  Check our periodical list to see if we have it in print or microfiche and that we own the year/issue you need.  If the library does not own it, you may put in an Interlibrary Loan request and we will obtain a copy of the article(s) from another library.

How can I tell if a particular journal, magazine or newspaper is available through one of the full-text databases purchased by the library?
Use our Journal Finder to search for full-text magazines and journals available in our databases.

Subject Guide

Office Hours

Monday - Thursday:
8:00am - 5:30pm

Friday:
8:00am - noon