Downloading Python
If you don't have Python already installed on your computer, you can download it for free. You can download it from the Python Software Foundation. You could also install the Anaconda distribution of Python which includes Jupyter notebooks capability, pre-installed Python packages, and more.
Python Tutorials
Python Crash Course by
Python Crash Course is a fast-paced, thorough introduction to Python that will have you writing programs, solving problems, and making things that work in no time. In the first half of the book, you ll learn about basic programming concepts, such as lists, dictionaries, classes, and loops, and practice writing clean and readable code with exercises for each topic. You ll also learn how to make your programs interactive and how to test your code safely before adding it to a project. In the second half of the book, you ll put your new knowledge into practice with three substantial projects: a Space Invaders inspired arcade game, data visualizations with Python s super-handy libraries, and a simple web app you can deploy online. As you work through Python Crash Course you ll learn how to: Use powerful Python libraries and tools, including matplotlib, NumPy, and Pygal Make 2D games that respond to keypresses and mouse clicks, and that grow more difficult as the game progresses Work wit
Call Number: QA76.73.P98M38 2016ISBN: 9781593276034
Python for Everybody by
Python for Everybody is designed to introduce students to programming and software development through the lens of exploring data. You can think of the Python programming language as your tool to solve data problems that are beyond the capability of a spreadsheet.Python is an easy to use and easy to learn programming language that is freely available on Macintosh, Windows, or Linux computers. So once you learn Python you can use it for the rest of your career without needing to purchase any software.This book uses the Python 3 language. The earlier Python 2 version of this book is titled "Python for Informatics: Exploring Information".There are free downloadable electronic copies of this book in various formats and supporting materials for the book at www.py4e.com. The course materials are available to you under a Creative Commons License so you can adapt them to teach your own Python course.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781530051120
Python Basics by
Make the Leap From Beginner to Intermediate in Python... Python Basics: A Practical Introduction to Python 3 Your Complete Python Curriculum-With Exercises, Interactive Quizzes, and Sample Projects What should you learn about Python in the beginning to get a strong foundation? With Python Basics, you'll not only cover the core concepts you really need to know, but you'll also learn them in the most efficient order with the help of practical exercises and interactive quizzes. You'll know enough to be dangerous with Python, fast! Who Should Read This BookIf you're new to Python, you'll get a practical, step-by-step roadmap on developing your foundational skills. You'll be introduced to each concept and language feature in a logical order. Every step in this curriculum is explained and illustrated with short, clear code samples. Our goal with this book is to educate, not to impress or intimidate.If you're familiar with some basic programming concepts, you'll get a clear and well-tested introduction to Python. This is a practical introduction to Python that jumps right into the meat and potatoes without sacrificing substance. If you have prior experience with languages like VBA, PowerShell, R, Perl, C, C++, C#, Java, or Swift the numerous exercises within each chapter will fast-track your progress.If you're a seasoned developer, you'll get a Python 3 crash course that brings you up to speed with modern Python programming. Mix and match the chapters that interest you the most and use the interactive quizzes and review exercises to check your learning progress as you go along.If you're a self-starter completely new to coding, you'll get practical and motivating examples. You'll begin by installing Python and setting up a coding environment on your computer from scratch, and then continue from there. We'll get you coding right away so that you become competent and knowledgeable enough to solve real-world problems, fast. Develop a passion for programming by solving interesting problems with Python every day!If you're looking to break into a coding or data-science career, you'll pick up the practical foundations with this book. We won't just dump a boat load of theoretical information on you so you can "sink or swim"-instead you'll learn from hands-on, practical examples one step at a time. Each concept is broken down for you so you'll always know what you can do with it in practical terms.If you're interested in teaching others "how to Python," this will be your guidebook. If you're looking to stoke the coding flame in your coworkers, kids, or relatives-use our material to teach them. All the sequencing has been done for you so you'll always know what to cover next and how to explain it. What Python Developers Say About The Book: "Go forth and learn this amazing language using this great book." - Michael Kennedy, Talk Python "The wording is casual, easy to understand, and makes the information flow well." - Thomas Wong, Pythonista "I floundered for a long time trying to teach myself. I slogged through dozens of incomplete online tutorials. I snoozed through hours of boring screencasts. I gave up on countless crufty books from big-time publishers. And then I found Real Python. The easy-to-follow, step-by-step instructions break the big concepts down into bite-sized chunks written in plain English. The authors never forget their audience and are consistently thorough and detailed in their explanations. I'm up and running now, but I constantly refer to the material for guidance." - Jared Nielsen, Pythonista
Call Number: QA73.73.P98 2021ISBN: 9781775093329
- Plotting and Programming in Python (Software Carpentry)This series of lessons from Software Carpentry is a great resource for beginners. The focus is on working with one data set from start to end. Highlighted packages include pandas and matplotlib.
- Learn Python 2 (Code Academy)This series of Code Academy tutorials focuses on basic Python programming concepts (strings, conditionals, functions, loops, etc.).
O'Reilly Resources
Python Data Science Handbook by
Python is a first-class tool for many researchers, primarily because of its libraries for storing, manipulating, and gaining insight from data. Several resources exist for individual pieces of this data science stack, but only with the new edition of Python Data Science Handbook do you get them all--IPython, NumPy, pandas, Matplotlib, Scikit-Learn, and other related tools. Working scientists and data crunchers familiar with reading and writing Python code will find the second edition of this comprehensive desk reference ideal for tackling day-to-day issues: manipulating, transforming, and cleaning data; visualizing different types of data; and using data to build statistical or machine learning models. Quite simply, this is the must-have reference for scientific computing in Python. With this handbook, you'll learn how: IPython and Jupyter provide computational environments for scientists using Python NumPy includes the ndarray for efficient storage and manipulation of dense data arrays Pandas contains the DataFrame for efficient storage and manipulation of labeled/columnar data Matplotlib includes capabilities for a flexible range of data visualizations Scikit-learn helps you build efficient and clean Python implementations of the most important and established machine learning algorithms
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781098121228
Practical Data Science with Python by
Learn to effectively manage data and execute data science projects from start to finish using Python Key Features Understand and utilize data science tools in Python, such as specialized machine learning algorithms and statistical modeling Build a strong data science foundation with the best data science tools available in Python Add value to yourself, your organization, and society by extracting actionable insights from raw data Book Description Practical Data Science with Python teaches you core data science concepts, with real-world and realistic examples, and strengthens your grip on the basic as well as advanced principles of data preparation and storage, statistics, probability theory, machine learning, and Python programming, helping you build a solid foundation to gain proficiency in data science. The book starts with an overview of basic Python skills and then introduces foundational data science techniques, followed by a thorough explanation of the Python code needed to execute the techniques. You'll understand the code by working through the examples. The code has been broken down into small chunks (a few lines or a function at a time) to enable thorough discussion. As you progress, you will learn how to perform data analysis while exploring the functionalities of key data science Python packages, including pandas, SciPy, and scikit-learn. Finally, the book covers ethics and privacy concerns in data science and suggests resources for improving data science skills, as well as ways to stay up to date on new data science developments. By the end of the book, you should be able to comfortably use Python for basic data science projects and should have the skills to execute the data science process on any data source. What you will learn Use Python data science packages effectively Clean and prepare data for data science work, including feature engineering and feature selection Data modeling, including classic statistical models (such as t-tests), and essential machine learning algorithms, such as random forests and boosted models Evaluate model performance Compare and understand different machine learning methods Interact with Excel spreadsheets through Python Create automated data science reports through Python Get to grips with text analytics techniques Who this book is for The book is intended for beginners, including students starting or about to start a data science, analytics, or related program (e.g. Bachelor's, Master's, bootcamp, online courses), recent college graduates who want to learn new skills to set them apart in the job market, professionals who want to learn hands-on data science techniques in Python, and those who want to shift their career to data science. The book requires basic familiarity with Python. A "getting started with Python" section has been included to get complete novices up to speed.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781801071970
Python for Data Science by
A hands-on, real-world introduction to data analysis with the Python programming language, loaded with wide-ranging examples. Python is an ideal choice for accessing, manipulating, and gaining insights from data of all kinds. Python for Data Science introduces you to the Pythonic world of data analysis with a learn-by-doing approach rooted in practical examples and hands-on activities. You'll learn how to write Python code to obtain, transform, and analyze data, practicing state-of-the-art data processing techniques for use cases in business management, marketing, and decision support. You will discover Python's rich set of built-in data structures for basic operations, as well as its robust ecosystem of open-source libraries for data science, including NumPy, pandas, scikit-learn, matplotlib, and more. Examples show how to load data in various formats, how to streamline, group, and aggregate data sets, and how to create charts, maps, and other visualizations. Later chapters go in-depth with demonstrations of real-world data applications, including using location data to power a taxi service, market basket analysis to identify items commonly purchased together, and machine learning to predict stock prices.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781718502208
Foundational Python for Data Science by
Data science and machine learning--two of the world's hottest fields--are attracting talent from a wide variety of technical, business, and liberal arts disciplines. Python, the world's #1 programming language, is also the most popular language for data science and machine learning. This is the first guide specifically designed to help millions of people with widely diverse backgrounds learn Python so they can use it for data science and machine learning. Leading data science instructor and practitioner Kennedy Behrman first walks through the process of learning to code for the first time with Python and Jupyter notebook, then introduces key libraries every Python data science programmer needs to master. Once you've learned these foundations, Behrman introduces intermediate and applied Python techniques for real-world problem-solving. Throughout, Foundational Python for Data Science presents hands-on exercises, learning assessments, case studies, and more--all created with Colab (Jupyter compatible) notebooks, so you can execute all coding examples interactively without installing or configuring any software.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780136624356
