Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Help: Web of Science

Description

Provides access to citation/abstract details for hundreds of thousands of worldwide publications such as journals (including Open Access journals), conference papers, books and book chapters.

Coverage: 1900-present.

Full Text

  • Links to some full text.
  • Click on the Check for Full Text button.

Database Access

Good to Know

  • To create a free Web of Science account, click the Sign In link, then select the Register link.
  • To use advanced features such as Save Searches, sign in with a Web of Science username and password.
  • This database offers extensive, detailed Help options and context-sensitive Examples on most of its search pages

Search Tips

  • To perform a general keyword search on a topic, use the default Search page (the first page that appears after accessing the database). If you are not on this page, click the Search tab to return to it.
  • Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: automat* will find automate, automated, automatic, etc.
  • Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "crew resource management"
  • After results are retrieved, use the Refine Results options on the left side of the page to get more focused, relevant information.
  • To perform an author search, click the Author Search tab, then enter the author's last name and initials of the first and middle names (if known) in the designated boxes, as shown in the examples provided below the boxes. Enter name variants (if known) and use the Research Domain and Organization limiters (if known) to narrow the search.
  • To create more complex search strategies, click the Advanced Search tab. Prior to using this option, please view the help options titled Learn more about Advanced Search and view the tutorial found on the Advanced Search page.

Request Items

Full text of an article not available?  Fill out an Interlibrary loan request form and the Hazy Library will get it for you.

Contact our interlibrary loan specialist Leanne Harworth with any additional questions or concerns.

Featured Librarian

Joanne Evanoff's picture
Joanne Evanoff
Contact:
Hazy Library, Room 225
928-777-3802