Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MS-Safety Science : ASASA

Behavioral and Safety Sciences

What is ASASA?

The Aviation Safety and Security Archives is a repository for unique or rare materials relevant to our subject specialty. Several collections relating to aviation safety and security can be found and searched here. Although our collections don't circulate like library books, we do welcome researchers to use them both on site and on-line.

Our Digital Library contains digital documents, including thousands of photographs, letters, reports, and other documents, most of which offer full text.

ASASA Collections

Flight Safety Foundation Jerry Lederer Aviation Safety Library (MS-016)
Includes the Jerome Lederer Papers, Flight Safety Foundation records and publications, and a library of books, journals, manuals, and reports on aviation safety and security topics. Processing is ongoing; please contact the archives for more information about the collection.

Jack Hartmann Oral History (OH-001)
Jack Hartmann was a sky marshal in the 1970s. The collection contains an oral history with Hartmann about airline security and his experiences as a sky marshal, as well as supplementary material from Hartmann. (0.21 linear feet)

Al Haynes Lecture on UAL Flight 232 (L-002)
Al Haynes was the captain of United Flight 232 that crashed in Sioux City, Iowa, after a catastrophic failure of the No. 2 engine led to the loss of the hydraulic systems that powered the airplane's flight controls. This is a VHS video recording of a lecture that he gave at Embry-Riddle, Prescott Campus.

Aviation Research Collection (ARC)
This collection contains various materials collected by the archives. Included are aviation accident reports (primarily NTSB but also other accident reports); other NTSB reports and studies including special investigation reports and safety studies; FAA Aerospace Medicine reports; and assorted publications and video recordings on aviation safety and security topics.

Flying Tigers Prints (EA-001)
These limited edition prints were created as a tribute to the American Volunteer Group "Flying Tigers" when they received the Milton Caniff Flight Award from the National Aviation Hall of Fame. Each print is signed by a surviving AVG pilot.

World War I Photographs Album (MS-017)
This collection consists of pages from a photograph album related to the Deutsche Luftstreitkräfte (German Air Force) during and immediately following World War I. The album includes photographs of aircraft, military personnel, and a small number of images of airfield and flying school facilities. A few commercial postcards depict aircraft in flight. Aircraft photographs include photographs of wreckage with notes regarding the accident, damage, and injuries. Also included in the album are aerial reconnaissance photographs (circa 1916-1917). Captions are in German, with English translations provided for the aircraft and aircraft wreckage photographs.

John P. Stapp Papers (MS-018)
John Paul Stapp pursued research in aerospace medicine and automotive safety, and is best known for his studies related to crash protection and human tolerance of acceleration/deceleration forces. The Stapp papers include publications, reports, and presentations by Stapp, research files, correspondence, biographical material, reference files, photographs, and records related to Stapp's involvement with the Stapp Car Crash Conference and with professional organizations.

Charles W. Miller Papers (MS-020)
The Charles W. Miller papers document his aeronautical engineering work, his talent as an artist and cartoonist, and his interests in aviation history and aircraft design. The collection includes reports; design drawings, calculations, and notes; memoranda; handbooks; and other reference material from Miller's work at Lockheed, Vega Aircraft Corporation, North American Aviation, and Northrop Aircraft.

James E. Hall Papers (MS-021)
This collection contains records from Hall's tenure as Chair of the NTSB, 1993-2001, including extensive files on notable accidents (aviation and other modes) that occurred during this time, such as TWA 800, USAir flight 427, EqyptAir 990, Korean Air flight 801, COMAIR Flight 3272, Valujet Flight 592, Simmons Airlines/American Eagle flight 4184 (Roselawn), and others. The collection also includes materials related to NTSB administration, statements and speeches by Hall, conferences and meetings, as well as topics of concern/initiatives such as child restraint systems, and addressing the needs of families following the loss of a loved one in an air crash. Also includes material on terrorism, the 9/11 attacks, and the Gore Commission on Aviation Safety and Security.

Richard F. Chandler Papers (MS-022)
Aeromedical research materials of Richard F. Chandler, former head of protection and survival laboratory at FAA Civil Aeromedical Institute. In addition to Chandler's own research, the collection includes significant documentation of work by John P. Stapp and Hugh de Haven.
 

ASASA Collections

Finding aids (inventories) for ASASA's collections are available on Arizona Archives Online. Additional finding aids and indexes are available in the Archives, please contact Archivist Melissa Gottwald at gottwalm@erau.edu or 928-777-3907.

C. O. Miller Papers (MS-001)
C. O. Miller was a teacher, consultant, and engineer who worked in aviation system safety. The Miller Papers contain biographical material; publications; teaching files; and Miller's "accident prevention files"--a large set of subject files on aerospace safety and operations. (67.26 linear feet)

David Haddon Holladay Papers (MS-002)
David Holladay was an aviation safety consultant, educator, and accident investigator. The Holladay Papers contain accident investigation case files; reference and research files; and aircraft manuals. (512.9 linear feet)

David S. Hall Papers (MS-003)
David Hall is a specialist in mishap prevention and investigation who has provided service to the legal profession in the area of accident cause determination and accident reconstruction. The Hall Papers consist primarily of files relating to accident investigation. The collection also contains publications and reference material related to aviation safety. (193.72 linear feet)

Charles Mercer Papers (MS-004)
"Chuck" Mercer had a long career as an employee of the Lockheed Corporation, where he was an engineer and a member of the company's accident investigation team. Following his retirement from Lockheed, he started his own consulting firm and also taught aviation safety workshops. The Mercer Papers contain reports by Mercer and others; technical papers, manuals, and other materials from his work at Lockheed; and assorted publications related to aviation and safety. (16.87 linear feet)

William D. Waldock Papers (MS-005)
Waldock is a professor in the safety science program at ERAU-Prescott, and has conducted numerous accident investigations. The Waldock Papers contain photographs of aviation safety scientists, a CD containing an NTSB docket, DVD copy of television program on a DC-10 accident near Paris, and a paper on accident investigation (not by written by Waldock). (1.17 linear feet)

S. Harry Robertson Papers (MS-006)
Dr. Robertson's research has been instrumental in saving lives. In 1976 he founded Robertson Aviation in Tempe, Arizona, to develop crashworthy auxiliary fuel systems, initially for U.S. Army and USAF special operations helicopters. The Robertson Papers contains accident investigation case files (including over 15,000 photographs); technical papers, reports, and reference material; a video library; and books and periodicals. (509.82 linear feet

Skyrage Foundation Records (MS-007)
The Skyrage Foundation was founded by Michael Sheffer in 1998 to combat in-flight violence and disruptive passengers; the project was ended in 2004. The Skyrage Records contain an electronic copy of the Skyrage.org web site; video of news coverage and a Skyrage presentation; and paper records including correspondence and subject/research files. (0.42 linear feet)

MS-008 Robert W. Sweginnis Papers (MS-008)
Sweginnis was a faculty member in the College of Aviation at Embry-Riddle, Prescott Campus. The Sweginnis Papers contain course materials on aviation safety; photographs (chiefly slides) and videos used as teaching tools; flight manuals; and publications about aviation and aviation safety. (9.66 linear feet)

International Society of Air Safety Investigators (ISASI) Collection (MS-009)
ISASI promotes air safety by the exchange of ideas, experiences, and information about aircraft accident investigations, and to otherwise aid in the advancement of flight safety. The ISASI collection contains the ISASI Forum, aviation accident reports, and air safety publications. (52.76 linear feet)

Juergen Tank Papers (MS-010)
Juergen Tank was the Director of Aviation Safety and Security at Embry-Riddle, Prescott's Flight Line. The Tank Papers contain course materials, training guides, and manuals. (2.69 linear feet)

Christine Negroni Papers (MS-011)
Christine Negroni is an aviation writer, investigator, and journalist. The Negroni Papers consists of Negroni's research files for her books Deadly Departure: Why the Experts Failed to Prevent the TWA 800 Disaster and How It Could Happen Again and The Crash Detectives: Investigating the World's Most Mysterious Air Disasters. (12.8 linear feet)

Richard G. Snyder Papers (MS-012)
Snyder is an internationally known research scientist with expertise in human impact tolerances and trauma mechanisms, biomechanics, forensic anthropology and anthropometry, crash protection, and transportation safety. The Snyder Papers consist of materials created and collected by Snyder in the course of his work as a research scientist over 50 years, including: technical and scientific publications and reports; Snyder's publications and research files; correspondence; reference files; films; and books and other printed materials. (528.25 linear feet)

American Airlines. Safety Office Collection (MS-013)
This collection is an example of information that an organization may choose to collect and circulate in order to keep staff current on safety issues. The bulk of the collection consists of an extensive set of CAB and NTSB accident reports, including general aviation as well as air carrier accidents. The collection also includes statistical summaries of accidents, CAA hearing notices, newsletters and safety bulletins from the NTSB and other organizations, and communications (internal and from outside agencies) related to accident reports. (11.67 linear feet)

Jerry Vanier Collection (MS-014)
The collection contains aircraft manuals and training materials. (2.36 linear feet)

John Zimmerman and Leslie King Collection (MS-015)
The collection contains training and informational materials collected by Zimmerman and King during their airline careers. Included are training materials; cockpit/crew resource management (CRM) manuals and articles; security-related materials; air traffic control and traffic collision avoidance system (TCAS) reports; and miscellaneous other safety reports and documents.

Contact Us

Melissa Gottwald
Archivist

gottwalm@erau.edu
Phone: 928-777-3907

ASASA General Information and Reading Room

ASASA Email: prasasa@erau.edu

Phone: 928-777-3949
Fax: 928-777-3934

Follow ASASA on:

Facebook or Twitter