Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Standard?
A standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines, or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes, and services are fit for their purpose. In other words, they establish uniform criteria for engineering methods, practices, product specifications, and performance.
Search for Standards
We strive to have standards relevant to the academic curriculum. However, many industry standards are unavailable due to vendor restrictions. The databases below may have the information you are seeking.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Mechanical engineering research.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to ASTM international standards, journals, and other publications.
Free read-only access to standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs) on international civil aviation, Conventions, and Related Acts. Please Note: Free registration is required for ICAO publication access.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to all IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions, and standards
SAE MOBILUS This link opens in a new window
Previously SAE Digital Library. 175,000 technical papers, standards, ebooks, and related publications from SAE.
Some industry standards are provided for free through the American National Standards Institute. The links below provide a way to search for them.
ANSI Standards Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal
"The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)" developed by standards developing organizations such as ISO, IEC, and others.
Federal & Military Standards
ASSIST Quick Search
Official source for specifications and standards used by the Department of Defense. Indexed documents include current and historical military and federal standards and specifications.
Provides free access to government and military standards, specifications, handbooks, and documents.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
Searchable full-text of U.S. government workplace safety standards and regulations.
Background materials and useful links for locating information about the use of standards in government. Primary focus is on federal agency use of standards for regulatory and procurement purposes.
Selected Standards Organizations
ADA Standards establish design requirements for the construction and alteration of facilities subject to the law, enforceable for places of public accommodation, commercial facilities, and state and local government facilities.
ANSI - American National Standards Institute
Standards & publications, U.S. and international standards, ISO
ISO Standards - Select ones free during Covid-19
A select number of ISO standards relating to medical devices and equipment, biotechnology, security and resilience, and risk management are currently free.
National Fire Protection Association
NFPA publishes more than 300 consensus codes and standards intended to minimize the possibility and effects of fire and other risks
Manufacturers, regulators and consumers look to NSF International for the development of public health standards and certification programs to help protect the world’s food, water, consumer products and environment
Laura Pope Robbins
Subjects: Citing Sources
, Dictionaries, Handbooks, & Encyclopedias
, General & Multi-Subject
, Jobs and Careers
, Research Help
, Science & Technology