Featured Books
History of Air Cargo and Air Mail from the 18th CenturyCall Number: HE6238 .A44 2004
Moving Boxes by Air: the economics of international air cargo by Call Number: HE9788.M67 2019ISBN: 9781138745490
ULD Regulations by
The ULD Regulations replaces the former ULD Technical Manual. The ULDR contains both technical and operational standard specifications and regulatory requirements as well as airlines requirements applicable to overall ULD operations.
Call Number: Ref. HE9788.U52 2020
Ebook Central - ERAU
Search Catalog
Featured eBooks
Air Cargo Security by
This book examines aviation security with a focus on the background and policy options for screening and securing air cargo. The air cargo system is a complex, multi-faceted network that handles a vast amount of freight, express packages and mail carried aboard passenger and all-cargo aircraft. The air cargo system is vulnerable to several security risks, including potential plots to place explosives aboard aircraft; illegal shipments of hazardous materials; criminal activities such as smuggling and theft and potential hijackings and sabotage by persons with access to aircraft. Several procedural and technology-based initiatives to enhance air cargo security and deter terrorist and criminal threats have been put in place or are under construction.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781621000549
Air Carrier Operations by
Whether a Part 121 airline or a Part 135 charter operator, a company lives or dies by its compliance with the applicable Federal Aviation Regulations, or FARs (14 CFR). Air Carrier Operations introduces students of aviation to the significant Federal Aviation Regulations affecting airline operations. Students and professionals gain an appreciation of the variety of regulatory issues involved in air carrier operations and gather the background information they need to identify and apply the relevant regulations. This book examines the many regulations governing an air carrier and focuses primarily on Part 121 air carriers; in addition, coverage includes Part 119 and relevant portions of Parts 135, 91, 61 and 25 of the Federal Aviation Regulations. For this fourth edition, the authors update regulations including Part 111 and the Pilot Records Database as well as type ratings, class, and category. The text emphasizes Instrument Flight Rules (IFR) flight operations, particularly useful to instrument-rated pilots and aircraft dispatchers. The authors collaborated with two seasoned Aircraft Dispatchers, enhancing the content relevant to students preparing for the FAA Aircraft Dispatcher Certificate. In addition, updates and revisions throughout reflect new FAA regulatory changes to provide students, pilots, flight crews, dispatchers, and management professionals with the essential information pertinent to today's air carrier operations. Air Carrier Operations is a college-level text ideal for Air Carrier Flight Operations and Airline Operations courses, is used extensively in Airline Dispatcher Training courses, and is an excellent preparation for airline interviews and initial airline pilot training.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781644252635
Freight Capacity for the 21st Century by
Recommends development of a national policy to promote better management and investment decisions in order to maintain and improve the capacity of the nation's freight system. This report recommends four principles to guide decisions about using, enlarging, funding, or regulating the freight transportation system.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780309077460
The International Air Cargo Industry by
With the growth of just-in-time delivery and e-commerce, fast and efficient cargo delivery remains in high demand around the globe. Not so long ago, the air cargo mode was employed mostly to move higher valued goods. Open international trade, combined with scale/scope economies in air transport and the use of modern commercial jets means that now some formerly "bulky" commodities are moved by air, a modal choice that would have been unthinkable a generation ago. However, as it grows the industry is not without its controversies or detractors. Employing various empirical techniques and modeling perspectives, the authors highlight the methods by which air cargo companies today provide effective and increasingly affordable services and how such services enhance economic growth, trade and development. The chapters cover three broad operational areas: costs and competitiveness, shipper services and air cargo company demand, and international competition and economic development. This volume provides the researcher with an updated "snapshot" of this international industry and provides governments with strong evidence that the development of an internationally competitive air cargo sector will likely continue to generate significant economic benefits across the globe.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781839092121
Managing Airports by
- Uniquely, focuses on the management of airports to guide business strategy (strategic, commercial and competitive aspects of airline business) rather than airport planning and operations (Young) or economics or marketing of international airlines (Doganis). It therefore provides an innovative insight into the processes behind running a successful airport and is considered to be the best most accessible book available. - Fills a need for a new edition by being updated to reflect the reflect the major changes in strategic direction for the airline and airport industry due the most significant global crisis ever faced by this industry, Covid19 as well as technology advances and emphasis on sustainable development. - International in content and case studies. - The book is well pitched, practical and helpful to both students and academics alike. It condenses information into logical chapters and includes key information needed for teaching a module with an Airport Management focus. It provides the perfect structure and outline in teaching the subject form. - Excellent balance of theory and industry examples. Some of the other books available lack relevancy. - Written in an engaging accessible style, at an appropriate level for UG students studying this subject for the first time.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781032216409
Wow and Skyteam Cargo by
In the airline industry, the formation of highly integrated strategic alliances started during the 1990's. Thereby, Star Alliance became the first global player when passenger airlines faced deregulation, and wanted to support their growth and expansion in international markets. For cargo companies, this type of integration came around later, namely in the beginning of 2000.As a result of the increased co-operation, major alliances were formed with the launch of SkyTeam Cargo and WOW. In the dawn of the new century, these alliances should lay the cornerstone for the achievement of a long term success through synergy effects, and higher competitiveness in terms of the individual and the group. A decade later, WOW and SkyTeam Cargo have evolved in different directions but, not all members or ex-members are pleased about the results. Strategic alliances in air transport have been studied widely but, most of the recent publications only cover the passenger side in this business. There are a lot of information and statements about the benefits that alliances can bring to ist members. But, the review of the literature shows that research is very sparse when it comes down to the evaluation of the actual impact of alliance integration on air cargo carriers' standing. The objective of this book is to analyze and interpret the impact of a strategic alliance on cargo airlines' revenue-tonne-kilometres key figures (provided by Airline Business 1998-2010), and market share developments. The author's aim is on the one hand, to answer the question if air cargo operators did profit from alliance integration, and on the other hand, to give the reasons for this development. Besides, the book gives an overview about the market's environment, the characteristics of air freight, and the history of WOW and SkyTeam Cargo. Further, the additional questions are discussed in detail:* How did carriers react to the challenges and opportunities in the market? * What are the main benefits or disadvantages for alliance members? * What major challenges do (prospective) members face in an alliance? * What are the core arrangements and prerequisites for alliance integration? * Is there a common success, are there stability factors and why do alliances fail?* What alternatives are there to alliance formation
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783954890545
