Filling in the Gaps
When you are doing research on a current topic, you'll find most of your information in articles. These articles can be found using the databases listed below.
Databases - Where to Find Articles
Here are just a few of the aviation-focused databases that you could use for your research. Many more are listed on our Databases by Degree page, but these will give you a good broad start.
- Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database This link opens in a new windowArticles on aeronautics, astronautics, space sciences, electronics, emerging technologies, and more.
- AIAA Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new windowFull-text AIAA books, papers and journals in aviation and aerospace.
- Aviation Week Intelligence Network This link opens in a new windowFull-text aviation/aerospace/homeland security news articles.
- Jane's by IHS This link opens in a new windowLog in with your ERAU email address. Limited to five users at a time. Please click Logout when finished.
Jane's provides complete (full-text) access to technical details (performance and specifications) for civil and military aircraft currently produced or under development. Available modules are listed under the Jane's Products Menu (on right) under "View All."
See "more" below for a complete list of Jane's modules. - SAE MOBILUS This link opens in a new windowPreviously SAE Digital Library. 175,000 technical papers, standards, ebooks, and related publications from SAE.
What is EagleSearch
EagleSearch is the Hazy Library's one-stop search engine that searches over 100 databases and our catalog in one shot. It can be a great place to start your research to see if there is anything on your topic. However, it can sometimes be hard to narrow down a topic in it. That's when it's better to use the individual databases.
Try both and see what works for you.