Sample Books
-
Aircraft Systems
by
An authoritative guide to the various systems related to navigation, control, and other instrumentation used in a typical aircraft Aircraft Systems offers an examination of the most recent developments in aviation as it relates to instruments, radio navigation, and communication. Written by a noted authority in the field, the text includes in-depth descriptions of traditional systems, reviews the latest developments, as well as gives information on the technologies that are likely to emerge in the future. The author presents material on essential topics including instruments, radio propagation, communication, radio navigation, inertial navigation, and puts special emphasis on systems based on MEMS. This vital resource also provides chapters on solid state gyroscopes, magnetic compass, propagation modes of radio waves, and format of GPS signals. Aircraft Systems is an accessible text that includes an investigation of primary and secondary radar, the structure of global navigation satellite systems, and more. This important text: Contains a description of the historical development of the latest technological developments in aircraft instruments, communications and navigation Gives several "interesting diversion" topics throughout the chapters that link the topics discussed to other developments in aerospace Provides examples of instruments and navigation systems in actual use in cockpit photographs obtained during the authors work as a flight instructor Includes numerous worked examples of relevant calculations throughout the text and a set of problems at the end of each chapter Written for upper undergraduates in aerospace engineering and pilots in training, Aircraft Systems offers an essential guide to both the traditional and most current developments in aviation as it relates to instruments, radio navigation, and communication.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119259862Publication Date: 2018-10-12 -
Aircraft Systems Classifications
by
Aircraft Systems Classifications Enables aerospace professionals to quickly and accurately reference key information about all types of aircraft systems Aircraft Systems Classifications: A Handbook of Characteristics and Design Guidelines provides comprehensive information on aircraft systems delivered in a concise, direct, and standardized way, allowing readers to easily find the information they need. The book presents a full set of characteristics and requirements for all types of aircraft systems, including avionic, mission, and supporting ground systems, in a single volume. Readers can delve further into specific topics by referencing the detailed glossary and bibliography. To aid in reader comprehension, each aircraft system is broken down according to various criteria, such as: Purpose, description, and safety Integration with other systems Key interfaces and design drivers Modeling and simulation Best practices and future trends Written for aerospace professionals, researchers, and advanced students with some existing knowledge of the aircraft industry, this book allows readers to quickly reference information on every aspect of aircraft systems.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119771845Publication Date: 2022-04-25 -
Aircraft Systems for Pilots
by
This book is a single source, concise presentation of what pilots should know about basic aircraft systems. The content reflects the author's more than thirty-five years experience of flying and fourteen years of teaching Aircraft Systems to university students.Aircraft Systems for Pilots includes a brief study of the fundamentals of physical matter (from which airplanes are made) and mechanics (how airplane parts act and react). The author provides sufficient study of each type of system to allow the professional pilot to stay abreast of the critical learning which must occur as the pilot advances into management of more complex aircraft.Subject covered include physics, aircraft engine types and construction, reciprocating engine theory of operation, engine lubrication and cooling, propellers and governors, fuels and fuel systems, power management, supercharging and turbocharging, pressurization and high altitude operations, electrical principles, electrical components, aircraft electrical systems, hydraulic systems and landing gear, pneumatic and deicing systems, aircraft structures and flight controls, weight and balance, inspections, pilot maintenance, and aircraft instrument systems. Illustrated throughout, study questions conclude each chapter and includes index.In print for more than 30 years and continually updated through the years, this 4th Edition continues to serve as the comprehensive college textbook for pilots learning aircraft systems.
Call Number: TL670.D36 2017ISBN: 9781619546271Publication Date: 2018-01-30 -
Commercial Aircraft Propulsion and Energy Systems Research
by
The primary human activities that release carbon dioxide (CO2) into the atmosphere are the combustion of fossil fuels (coal, natural gas, and oil) to generate electricity, the provision of energy for transportation, and as a consequence of some industrial processes. Although aviation CO2 emissions only make up approximately 2.0 to 2.5 percent of total global annual CO2 emissions, research to reduce CO2 emissions is urgent because (1) such reductions may be legislated even as commercial air travel grows, (2) because it takes new technology a long time to propagate into and through the aviation fleet, and (3) because of the ongoing impact of global CO2 emissions. Commercial Aircraft Propulsion and Energy Systems Research develops a national research agenda for reducing CO2 emissions from commercial aviation. This report focuses on propulsion and energy technologies for reducing carbon emissions from large, commercial aircraft? single-aisle and twin-aisle aircraft that carry 100 or more passengers?because such aircraft account for more than 90 percent of global emissions from commercial aircraft. Moreover, while smaller aircraft also emit CO2, they make only a minor contribution to global emissions, and many technologies that reduce CO2 emissions for large aircraft also apply to smaller aircraft. As commercial aviation continues to grow in terms of revenue-passenger miles and cargo ton miles, CO2 emissions are expected to increase. To reduce the contribution of aviation to climate change, it is essential to improve the effectiveness of ongoing efforts to reduce emissions and initiate research into new approaches.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780309440974Publication Date: 2016-08-09
Find Books
Find ebooks
Background Information
-
Encyclopedia of Technical Aviation
by
Call Number: Ref. TL551.B85 2002ISBN: 9780071402132Publication Date: 2002-10-16A technical reference for pilots and other aviation professionals. Alphabetically arranged by topic, it provides information and illustrations on subjects ranging from aerodynamics, airspeed, aircraft performance and atmosphere to engines, flight ops, meteorology, v-speeds and windshear.
-
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
McGraw-Hill resources and publications including instructional videos and classic books such as Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers and Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook.