LibGuides: Security and Intelligence Studies (M.S.): Find Articles

Core CSI Databases

Digital National Security Archive

Declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events from 1945 to the present.
- For more information, view Hazy Library's Digital National Security Archive database help guide.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.
Global Terrorism Database (GTD)

Information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2016.
Search Tips
- Content can be browsed by date, region, country, perpetrator group, weapon type, attack type, or target type.
- Use Basic Search to get a listing of events that contain a specific word or phrase, i.e. drugs.
- Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase: “drug cartel”.
- Use Advanced Search to look for multiple criteria. For example, a specific timeframe in a specific region or country, etc. In advanced search, click on each tab on the left to make selections, and then click on Search at the bottom.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)

Documents related to homeland security and cybersecurity policy, strategy and organizational management from sources including federal, state, and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

Articles, news feeds, and reports related to security and terrorism issues, including those related to international politics, military, and economics.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Share button, then select Create Link.
Janes

Provides full-text access to All the World's Aircraft, Aero-Engines, Airport Review, International Defense Review, News Module, and more.
Good to Know
- Please click Log out in the upper right of the screen when finished.
Search Tips
- Click the Products tab at the right, then Air & Space. To narrow results filter under Publication/Section to see Jane's All the World's Aircraft, All the World's Aircraft: Development & Production, and All the World's Aircraft: In Service.
- Use the Search box on the home page to search all of the database's content.
- For help using and searching in the database, click the question mark symbol in the top center and click View Help.
Stratfor / RANE
News, commentary, and analysis on political, social, military, and economic events and trends worldwide.
Security Studies

Provides a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from all corners of the globe.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Share button, then click Email, copy the URL from the email message, and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.
ProQuest Central

Provides citations, abstracts, and some full-text items covering all subject areas including business and economic journals, magazines, trade, and journals in psychology and computing.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.
TRAC: Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium
A digital intelligence repository of research and analysis covering terrorism and political violence.

Other Useful Databases

Access World News
With over 12,500 sources, research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources including the Arizona Daily Star.
Films on Demand

Educational films and documentaries for all academic disciplines. Content from PBS, TED, the BBC, National Geographic and more.
- To create a Films On Demand account, click on the Your Profile link in the upper right corner in desktop view or on the menu icon in mobile view.
- By creating an account you can create customized playlists, which can be shared by a persistent URL.
- To create a shareable link to a video, click the Share button, then click the Embed/Link tab, and copy the Record URL.
Global Road Warrior

A comprehensive guide to countries around the world, including facts, travel essentials, and extensive coverage of culture, history, and language.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar.
Mango Languages
Online language learning system including. Click on the information icon for a complete list of language courses.
Note: This database is available through the Yavapai Library Network. Use your barcode number from the back of your Eagle Card. (Example - 21932000123456) If you need assistance with your 4 digit pin number, please contact our Circulation Desk at 928-777-3811.
Nexis Uni

News articles, legal cases, and company information.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic.

Search Tips
- Results are narrowed to the News category by default.
- Use the options in the Narrow By section on the left to further focus your results by Timeline, Publication Type, etc.
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “law reviews”
- Use the asterisk (*) to find variant endings of a root word: brief* will find brief, briefs, briefing, etc.
- Use connectors AND, OR, NOT to separate terms and phrases: "municipal code" AND violation*
- For help using and searching this database, click on Help in the upper right-hand corner or click the Search Tips link beneath the Search box on the homepage.
- For help finding particular types of documents (cases, statutory codes, regulations, etc.), use the Get a Doc Assistance link beneath the Search box on the homepage.
PsycInfo

Human factors and psychological scholarly research.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.
Statista

A multitude of international statistics on populations, industries, economics, media, opinion, companies, politics, lifestyles, and many other topics. Includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs, and tables.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar.

EAGLEsearch

EagleSearch is a powerful research tool that compiles results from many of the library's databases in one big search! You can easily narrow down using filters for things like date of publication, type of information (like scholarly journals), and more. Everything you need is in one search bar, which is why it is sometimes referred to as the "Google" of library searches. Use EagleSearch tab from our homepage or try it from here.