LibGuides: Business Administration: Aviation Business

Researching the Aviation Industry (incl. airlines, airports, market research, etc.)

Airlines; manufacturers; air cargo; traffic; company, market and industry data. For data on specific aircraft, see Aircraft Data box.

Aviation Week Intelligence Network (AWIN)

Aviation, aerospace and homeland security news articles, as well as market updates and industry data.
- Select AWIN ACCESS in the upper right corner to read full-text content.
- Browse individual publications using Aviation Week & Space Technology 100-yr Archive by clicking on CURRENT & PAST ISSUES on the right end of the menu bar.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar.
CAPA Centre for Aviation
Provides independent market intelligence, analysis, news, country profiles, route maps, financials, and data services for the worldwide aviation industry.

Please click Logout when finished.
Cirium

Aviation and aerospace industry news, data and other related information services. Contains technical and operational information on a range of sectors including defense, business aviation, finance, MRO, spaceflight and training.
- If you experience difficulty accessing any part of this database, clear your Internet browser's cache and cookies.
- NETWORKS tab data is limited to only scheduled routes information and no network analysis.
- To return to the main page, click the CIRIUM logo in the upper left corner of any page.
Search Tips
- To perform a simple keyword search, click the magnifying glass icon in the upper left corner of the home page to open the Search box, enter the desired terms, and press the Enter key.
- Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: fuel* will find fuels, fueling, etc.
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “alternative fuels”
- Click the NEWS tab in the menu bar to limit general news articles by category, date, location, and article type. (If the Search box is open, click the upward arrow to close it and reveal the News and other tabs.)
- Click the COMPANIES tab to locate company profiles for airlines, airports, and MRO providers.
- Click the INDUSTRY UPDATES tab to limit industry news articles by category and date.
- Click the FLEETS tab to locate fleet data by market groupings (i.e., type of aircraft), manufacturer, and geographic location.
- Click the REPORTS tab for full-text reports on various topics, as well as issues of the trade publications Airline Business and Flight International.
ICAO Data+

International airline and airport statistics from the International Civil Aviation Organization.

Good to Know
Limited to one user at a time. Please click the Sign out button when finished.
Not all air carriers or airports are ICAO members. You may not find data for every air carrier and airport in the database.
From within each data table, click the printer icon to print or the Excel icon to download the data to Excel format.
Space Report Online

First published in 2006, the Space Foundation’s unbiased data collection and annual reporting covers the global space economy, space infrastructure, space workforce, and space products and services.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar.
Statista

A multitude of international statistics on populations, industries, economics, media, opinion, companies, politics, lifestyles, and many other topics. Includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs, and tables.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar.

Aviation & Aircraft Industries Market Outlooks (Boeing)
Boeing's team creates reports on the following markets: Commercial, Defense & Space, Services, Pilot & Technician, World Air Cargo, and Aircraft Finance.
Airline Data Project (MIT.edu)
From the Global Airline Industry Program at MIT. Updated June of each year using Form 41 data files by the U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics. "The ADP presents the most important airline industry data in one location in an easy-to-understand, user-friendly format."
IATA Economics Reports
These reports and outlooks "provide analysis of economic and policy developments affecting the financial performance of the global airline industry."

Aircraft Data

Values, specs, performance. For traffic, see Industry box. For detailed costs (maintenance, fuel, crew...), refer to Databases with Restricted Access box for information on Conklin & de Decker Report.

Aircraft Bluebook
Reports retail and wholesale prices for used general aviation aircraft and helicopters including historical values.

Good to Know
Does not include commercial aircraft.

Search Tips
There are two ways to search the Aircraft Bluebook:
1. Use the search boxes on the left side of the page to search by Make, Model, or Year.
2. Select your aircraft from the choices in the center of the homepage.
- Begin by selecting type (fixed wing or helicopter)
- Select Make
- Select Model
- Select your aircraft by Model Year

Please logout when you are finished with your search.
Jane's All The World's Aircraft (IHS)

Please see Janes.

Government and Association Websites

Bureau of Transportation Statistics (.gov)
Countless data on airports, airlines, freight, safety, environment and economics.
Department of Transportation - Aviation (.gov)
Airline and airport statistics, air travel consumer reports, and links to FAA sites.
DOT Data
Datasets, charts, and reports by transportation mode or topic.

Scholarly Journals and Articles

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database

Provides citations, abstracts and some full text articles to aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, meteorology, communications and space sciences journal articles, conference proceedings, NASA documents, and technical reports.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.
AIAA Aerospace Research Central (ARC)

Journals, ebooks and papers published by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
- Users can only view standards online in the HTML viewer. We do not have PDF access.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.

Transportation Science (INFORMS journal)
1998-Present available online

Library Databases with Restricted Access

These resources are ONLY available from the computer kiosk across from the first floor printer alcove. Ask a librarian if you need assistance. The Conklin & de Decker Report requires a password that must be entered by a staff member.

Conklin & de Decker Aircraft Performance Comparator

Note: Shortcut to software on desktop.
Provides complete and comparable aircraft specifications, as well as essential performance data by means of charts, graphs, illustrations, and tables for more than 300 aircraft including Jets, Turboprops, Pistons, and Helicopters.

Conklin & de Decker Report (previously Aircraft Cost Evaluator)

Note: Shortcut to webpage is on desktop. This resource is password protected. Contact a staff member for access.
Provides operating cost data for more than 500 aircraft including Jets, Turboprops, Helicopters, and Pistons and is available in the Hazy Library. Using the Aircraft Cost Evaluator you have access to the following:

Direct Costs, Fixed Costs, & Annual Budget Data
Fractional aircraft ownership data
Relative aircraft operating costs
Quick cost comparisons for up to 3 aircraft at one time
General aircraft performance comparisons
Reports tailored to use your local costs and salaries
Flexibility to specify the currencies and measurements that apply

Teal International Defense Briefing
Note: This resource is only available in the Library at the Quick Print Kiosk
Provides reports tracking the status and outlook of the international defense budgets, arms imports and weapons markets markets for over 130 countries.except for the United States.
Teal World Power Systems Briefing Aero Gas Turbine
Note: This resource is only available in the Library at the Quick Print Kiosk
Provides status and outlook of the aero gas turbine industry through comprehensive overviews and forecasts. The market overviews contain insights on the turbofan, turboprop, turbojet, turbo shaft and aero APU markets, with detailed annual summaries and 10-year market forecasts.
Teal World Power Systems Briefing Aero Gas Turbine
Note: This resource is only available in the Library at the Quick Print Kiosk
Provides status and outlook of the aero gas turbine industry through comprehensive overviews and forecasts. The market overviews contain insights on the turbofan, turboprop, turbojet, turbo shaft and aero APU markets, with detailed annual summaries and 10-year market forecasts.