LibGuides: Business Administration: Companies & Industries

What's an industry code?

Non-Profit Organizations

Cause IQ
Directory for nonprofit and charity organizations with summary info as well as financial and grant data, personnel, and news.
Nonprofit Explorer (ProPublica)
Database for nonprofit tax returns and full Form 990 documents.

Company and Industry Reports and Data (Library Databases)

Business: Insights

Company profiles and histories, brands, rankings, investment reports, chronologies, industry information, and more.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Get Link button.
Business Source Complete

Journals, trade publications, market research reports, industry profiles, and SWOT analyses in the disciplines of business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Share button, then select Create Link .
Cirium

Aviation and aerospace industry news, data and other related information services. Contains technical and operational information on a range of sectors including defense, business aviation, finance, MRO, spaceflight and training.
- If you experience difficulty accessing any part of this database, clear your Internet browser's cache and cookies.
- NETWORKS tab data is limited to only scheduled routes information and no network analysis.
- To return to the main page, click the CIRIUM logo in the upper left corner of any page.
Search Tips
- To perform a simple keyword search, click the magnifying glass icon in the upper left corner of the home page to open the Search box, enter the desired terms, and press the Enter key.
- Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: fuel* will find fuels, fueling, etc.
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “alternative fuels”
- Click the NEWS tab in the menu bar to limit general news articles by category, date, location, and article type. (If the Search box is open, click the upward arrow to close it and reveal the News and other tabs.)
- Click the COMPANIES tab to locate company profiles for airlines, airports, and MRO providers.
- Click the INDUSTRY UPDATES tab to limit industry news articles by category and date.
- Click the FLEETS tab to locate fleet data by market groupings (i.e., type of aircraft), manufacturer, and geographic location.
- Click the REPORTS tab for full-text reports on various topics, as well as issues of the trade publications Airline Business and Flight International.
Mergent Key Business Ratios
Access to the Mergent Key Business Ratios platform ceased on June 30, 2025. Information from Mergent Key Business Ratios can be found in Mergent Market Atlas.
Mergent Online
The Mergent Online platform has been replaced by Mergent Market Atlas.
Nexis Uni

News articles, legal cases, and company information.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic.

Search Tips
- Results are narrowed to the News category by default.
- Use the options in the Narrow By section on the left to further focus your results by Timeline, Publication Type, etc.
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “law reviews”
- Use the asterisk (*) to find variant endings of a root word: brief* will find brief, briefs, briefing, etc.
- Use connectors AND, OR, NOT to separate terms and phrases: "municipal code" AND violation*
- For help using and searching this database, click on Help in the upper right-hand corner or click the Search Tips link beneath the Search box on the homepage.
- For help finding particular types of documents (cases, statutory codes, regulations, etc.), use the Get a Doc Assistance link beneath the Search box on the homepage.
Statista

A multitude of international statistics on populations, industries, economics, media, opinion, companies, politics, lifestyles, and many other topics. Includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs, and tables.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar.
Value Line

Full-text, PDF-formatted reports and analyst commentaries on approximately 1,700 stocks.
- Access is to the current issue of the Value Line Investment Survey (VLIS) and the last twelve weekly issues.
- Click the Markets tab at the top of the screen to view Stock Market Today commentaries and Value Line's Economic Calendar, which highlights upcoming financial events and indicators.
- Click the Investment Education tab to view explanatory articles, FAQs, and videos on basic investing topics, such as "What is an Option?" The Glossary feature provides detailed definitions for financial and investment terms.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar.
Search Tips
For company stock reports, use the Company name or symbol box. Type the company name or ticker symbol and click Quote.

Data Axle (formerly ReferenceUSA)
Provided through the Arizona State Library. Enter your AZ zip-code for access. Great resource for entrepreneurship and market research. Directory of U.S. businesses with quick details on sales volume, employees, business types, executive titles, etc. "The U.S. Business database contains a total of 64 million businesses including 16 million verified and 48 million unverified businesses that are updated weekly."

Government-Collected Data

Bureau of Labor Statistics (.gov)
Data and reports on unemployment, career outlooks, earnings by industry, workplace injuries, etc.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (.gov)
Economic data for countries and industries.
Data.gov
Even more U.S. government data on a variety of topics, including energy, manufacturing, science & research, and public safety.
Company financials - EDGAR (SEC.gov)
U.S. public companies must file financial reports with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Some private companies will file as well. This database (EDGAR) allows you to find them in one place.
Export.gov
Search for a country or industry in the main search box to find market intelligence reports, export guides, and more.
Census Data (.gov)
Use the Advanced Search to browse topics, search by industry code, and more.
Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1879-2012
Useful for historical data

Financial Ratios

Business: Insights

Company profiles and histories, brands, rankings, investment reports, chronologies, industry information, and more.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Get Link button.
Mergent Key Business Ratios
Access to the Mergent Key Business Ratios platform ceased on June 30, 2025. Information from Mergent Key Business Ratios can be found in Mergent Market Atlas.
Mergent Online
The Mergent Online platform has been replaced by Mergent Market Atlas.
Nexis Uni

News articles, legal cases, and company information.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic.

Search Tips
- Results are narrowed to the News category by default.
- Use the options in the Narrow By section on the left to further focus your results by Timeline, Publication Type, etc.
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “law reviews”
- Use the asterisk (*) to find variant endings of a root word: brief* will find brief, briefs, briefing, etc.
- Use connectors AND, OR, NOT to separate terms and phrases: "municipal code" AND violation*
- For help using and searching this database, click on Help in the upper right-hand corner or click the Search Tips link beneath the Search box on the homepage.
- For help finding particular types of documents (cases, statutory codes, regulations, etc.), use the Get a Doc Assistance link beneath the Search box on the homepage.

More Resources on Current Issues

CQ Researcher

In-depth research reports on national and global issues including social trends, criminal justice, politics, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Get Link button.
Issues & Controversies
Up-to-date, in-depth, and objective information on current controversial issues. Combines authoritative factual analysis with clear explanations of opposing points of view.
Opposing Viewpoints
Access to In Context: Opposing Viewpoints ceased on June 30, 2025.

World Economic Forum Strategic Intelligence
An interactive visualization tool that draws connections between global issues. Good starting point for topic brainstorming. Sign up for free for fuller access.

Researching Corporate Misconduct

Guide to Strategic Corporate Research (Dirt Diggers Digest)
From the non-profit Corporate Research Project, this guide covers resources and strategies for how to research corporate misbehavior and violations.
Violation Tracker
"Violation Tracker is the first wide-ranging database on corporate misconduct." Includes cases resolved by many federal and state regulatory agencies since 2000, as well as employment-related class actions.

Other Data Sources

Supply Chain

MarineTraffic map (.com)
"MarineTraffic is the world’s leading provider of ship tracking and maritime intelligence. We are dedicated to making actionable information easily accessible."

Safety

Injury Facts (National Safety Council)
Data includes injuries related to work, motor vehicles, and home/community. International and state injury overviews also available.