Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Help: Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Description

Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

Full Text

Full text.

Database Access

Good to Know

  • What's New allows user to search the last three monthes in reverse chronological order.
  • Easy search for materials within Archive.
  • Advanced Search  very easy to navigate.

Search Tips

  • All queries are case insensitive.
  • Find all entries with ‘Leibniz’: Leibniz
  • Find all entries with either ‘Leibniz’ or ‘Hume’: leibniz hume
  • Find all entries with both ‘Leibniz’ and ‘Hume’: +leibniz +hume
  • Find all entries with ‘Leibniz’ and not ‘Hume’: +leibniz -hume
  • Find all entries with a complete phrase (using quotes): "John of Salisbury"
  • Find all entries by authors with name ‘Kevin’: author:Kevin
  • Find all entries with Nietzsche in the title: title:Nietzsche
  • Combine options. Find all entries with ‘John’ in the title and with an author name ‘Kevin’: +title:John +author:Kevin
  • Wildcards. Find all entries with the string ‘Fre’ followed by any number of characters: title:Fre*
Other search tips may be found on the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Search Tips page.

Ask a Librarian

Joanne Evanoff's picture
Joanne Evanoff
Contact:
Hazy Library, Room 225
928-777-3802