LibGuides: Safety Science: Articles &amp; Websites

Core Databases

ScienceDirect

Scholarly journals and ebooks in the areas of physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.
PsycInfo

Human factors and psychological scholarly research.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.
Dissertations & Theses Global

Dissertations and masters' theses from most North American graduate schools as well as some European universities. Many are available in full PDF format.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.
AIAA Aerospace Research Central (ARC)

Journals, ebooks and papers published by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
- Users can only view standards online in the HTML viewer. We do not have PDF access.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.
CRCnetBASE (now part of Taylor & Francis)
Full-text access to human factors and ergonomics-related books. CRCnetBase content is now available in Taylor & Francis eBooks.
Engineering Case Studies Online

Documentaries, accident reports, case studies, lectures and interviews on engineering failures and successes. Now part of Academic Video Online.
Examples of engineering failures include, but are not limited to:
- Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Disaster
- Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill
- Chernobyl Disaster
- Space Shuttle Challenger Disaster
- Air France Flight 4590
- Apollo 13
- TWA Flight 800
Good to Know
- A current version of Adobe Flash Player is required to use this database.
- Titles play in their entirety by default, but they can be played by clip when available.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar.
Search Tips
Connect search terms with AND: concorde AND accident
AccessEngineering

McGraw-Hill resources and publications including instructional videos and classic books such as Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers and Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook.
- To create a free AccessEngineering account, click on the My Account button on the right side of the homepage. Then, choose Log in via email/username and click on Register.
- To use features like printing, downloading, and text annotation, sign in with an AccessEngineering username and password.
- Downloadable Excel Spreadsheet Calculators covering a range of common calculations across several disciplines are available. Click on Spreadsheets.
- If you have access issues, clear your browser's cache and cookies. If you are using the Chrome browser, please try an alternate browser such as Firefox.
PubMed
Biomedical and life science journal literature at the National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. Includes PubMed Central, MEDLINE, and Bookshelf.
Sage Journals

Scholarly journals in the areas of human factors, ergonomics, psychology and engineering.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Share options button, check the terms and conditions box, then click the COPY ACCESS LINK button.

EAGLEsearch

Other Useful Databases

IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and standards in areas such as electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, media and more.Journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and standards in areas such as electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, media and more.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.
Jane's All The World's Aircraft (IHS)

Please see Janes.
Nexis Uni

News articles, legal cases, and company information.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic.

Search Tips
- Results are narrowed to the News category by default.
- Use the options in the Narrow By section on the left to further focus your results by Timeline, Publication Type, etc.
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “law reviews”
- Use the asterisk (*) to find variant endings of a root word: brief* will find brief, briefs, briefing, etc.
- Use connectors AND, OR, NOT to separate terms and phrases: "municipal code" AND violation*
- For help using and searching this database, click on Help in the upper right-hand corner or click the Search Tips link beneath the Search box on the homepage.
- For help finding particular types of documents (cases, statutory codes, regulations, etc.), use the Get a Doc Assistance link beneath the Search box on the homepage.
ProQuest One Academic

Four core multi-disciplinary content sets - ProQuest Central articles, Academic Complete eBook Collection, Academic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global – can now be searched together.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.
United States Census Bureau Census Data
Demographic and economic statistics. Search by geography down to the local level, including cities and towns and census designated places. View detailed race, age and gender breakdowns, and compare communities
United States Census Bureau QuickFacts
Facts about people, business, and geography. Provides profiles for the nation, states, counties, and places.

Safety Science: Articles & Websites

Core Databases

EAGLEsearch

Other Useful Databases

Databases or Websites?