What is a Standard?
A standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines, or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes, and services are fit for their purpose. In other words, they establish uniform criteria for engineering methods, practices, product specifications, and performance.
It is usually represented by an acronym indicating the issuing organization following by a document number. A date may or may not be included:
- ANSI B152.2-1982
- ISO/IEC/IEEE 15288
- AS 9100D
Search for Standards
We strive to have standards relevant to the academic curriculum. However, many industry standards are unavailable due to vendor restrictions. The databases below may have the information you are seeking.
-
AIAA Aerospace Research Central (ARC) This link opens in a new window
Journals, ebooks and papers published by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
-
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals, ebooks, and conference proceedings from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
-
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
ASTM’s standards (both current and historical versions) and many UNE and EN versions of ISO and IEC standards.
-
ICAO eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Public access (read-only) to the publications repository of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), featuring Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs) on international civil aviation, Conventions and Related Acts. Free registration required.
-
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and standards in areas such as electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, media and more.Journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and standards in areas such as electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, media and more.
-
SAE MOBILUS This link opens in a new window
Technical papers, standards, ebooks, and related publications from SAE International.
Some industry standards are provided for free through the American National Standards Institute. The link below provides a way to search for them.
-
ANSI Standards Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal"The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)" developed by standards developing organizations such as ISO, IEC, and others.
Federal & Military Standards
-
ASSIST Quick SearchOfficial source for specifications and standards used by the Department of Defense. Indexed documents include current and historical military and federal standards and specifications.
-
EverySpecProvides free access to government and military standards, specifications, handbooks, and documents.
-
NASA StandardsContains standards by discipline or by NASA Center.
-
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)Searchable full-text of U.S. government workplace safety standards and regulations.
-
Standards.govBackground materials and useful links for locating information about the use of standards in government. Primary focus is on federal agency use of standards for regulatory and procurement purposes.
Standards Organizations
Standards A-Z
Selected Standards Organizations
-
ADA StandardsADA Standards establish design requirements for the construction and alteration of facilities subject to the law, enforceable for places of public accommodation, commercial facilities, and state and local government facilities.
-
ANSI - American National Standards InstituteStandards & publications, U.S. and international standards, ISO
-
ISO StandardsSearching is free.
-
National Fire Protection AssociationNFPA publishes more than 300 consensus codes and standards intended to minimize the possibility and effects of fire and other risks
-
NSF InternationalManufacturers, regulators and consumers look to NSF International for the development of public health standards and certification programs to help protect the world’s food, water, consumer products and environment
Need Help?
Laura Pope Robbins
Subjects: Audiobooks, Aviation and Aeronautics, Business, Citing Sources, Computer Science, Databases, Dictionaries, Handbooks, & Encyclopedias, eBooks, Education, Engineering, Ergonomics & Human Factors, General & Multi-Subject, Health / Life Sciences / Medical, Humanities, Jobs and Careers, Magazines & News, Research Help