LibGuides: Aeronautical Science: Databases

Databases or Websites?

What is the difference?

Databases

Are fee-based; the library pays to license them.
Are available to registered members of the library.
Focus on a specific body of information (i.e. Aeronautics, Engineering)
May contain articles, books, gov documents, maps, technical reports.
Contain information written by professional writers and subject experts.

Websites

Are searched with search engines such as Google, Yahoo, or Ask.com
Are generally freely accessable.
Are available to anyone with an internet access.
May NOT be current, updated, or show no date at all.
Can cover any topic at all.
Contain information written by anyone.

EAGLEsearch

Google Scholar

Core Aeronautical Science Databases - START HERE

These are just some of the many databases that can be accessed through the Aeronautical Science Degree Guide. If you need help accessing or searching the databases, ASK A LIBRARIAN!

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database

Provides citations, abstracts and some full text articles to aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, meteorology, communications and space sciences journal articles, conference proceedings, NASA documents, and technical reports.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.
AIAA Aerospace Research Central (ARC)

Journals, ebooks and papers published by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
- Users can only view standards online in the HTML viewer. We do not have PDF access.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.
Aviation Week Intelligence Network (AWIN)

Aviation, aerospace and homeland security news articles, as well as market updates and industry data.
- Select AWIN ACCESS in the upper right corner to read full-text content.
- Browse individual publications using Aviation Week & Space Technology 100-yr Archive by clicking on CURRENT & PAST ISSUES on the right end of the menu bar.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar.
CAPA Centre for Aviation
Provides independent market intelligence, analysis, news, country profiles, route maps, financials, and data services for the worldwide aviation industry.

Please click Logout when finished.
Jane's All The World's Aircraft (IHS)

Please see Janes.

Other Useful Databases

ProQuest One Academic

Four core multi-disciplinary content sets - ProQuest Central articles, Academic Complete eBook Collection, Academic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global – can now be searched together.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.
ScienceDirect

Scholarly journals and ebooks in the areas of physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.
Web of Science

Provides access to citation/abstract details for hundreds of thousands of worldwide publications such as journals (including open access journals), conference papers, books, and book chapters. Includes journal impact factors in the Journal Citation Reports tab.
- Web of Science includes a subscription to Journal Citation Reports (JCR), a tool which analyzes citation references, measures research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. To learn more about JCR, please see the following sources:
  - Getting Started with Journal Citation Reports
  - Journal Citation Reports: Learn the Basics
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.

Aeronautical Science Research Guides

Aerospace Engineering Resources
A guide to resources for aeronautical engineering students @ ERAU-Prescott. Includes books, periodicals, handbooks & article databases
AS311 Aircraft Engines - Turbines
Aircraft Engines - Turbines
Meteorology
Resources in Applied Meteorology

PubMed
Biomedical and life science journal literature at the National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. Includes PubMed Central, MEDLINE, and Bookshelf.

Aeronautical Science: Databases