Astronomy: Data & Handbooks

A sizable portal to data from telescopes and other instruments operated by the National Research Council of Canada and Canadian Space Agency's Astronomy Data Centre.

The CDA provides access to Chandra data. Its primary role is one of storage and distribution of all data products, including those that users of the observatory need to perform their scientific studies using Chandra data.

HEASARC includes data obtained by NASA's high-energy astronomy missions from the extreme ultraviolet through gamma-ray bands, along with data from missions that study the relic cosmic microwave background. The archive also includes LAMBDA (Legacy Archive for Microwave Background Data Analysis) materials.

The National Space Science Data Center (NSSDC) is responsible for the long term archiving and preservation of all NASA space science data. It provides multidiscipline data and information services, including a large digital data archive from past NASA space science missions, directories, catalogs, and widely distributed science data resources. The NSSDC works with the other Office of Space Science (OSS) sponsored discipline data centers.

A database that archives and distributes scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements. The PDS is sponsored by NASA's Science Mission Directorate.

The JANAF Thermochemical Tables provide standard data for the chemical rock propulsion industry.

The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program. It contains thermochemical data, reaction data, spectral data, ion energetics data, gas chromatography data, and diatomic molecule constants. Currently free.

Contains an elemental data index, periodic table, list of physical constants, atomic spectroscopy data, molecular spectroscopic data, atomic & molecular data, X-ray and gamma-ray data, radiation dosimetry data, nuclear physics data, condensed matter data, and several other reference data sets.

One of the best reference books for tabulated physical and chemical data. 2016 Edition Online. Older print editions found on the Reference Shelves QD65.C88 2005-2006

The entire, unedited contents of the 16th edition (1995), containing tables of data, formulae, graphs and charts. Topics from fundamental constants to fibre optics, superconductivity to Raman spectroscopy, etc. NPL is no longer being updating this resource and has removed it from their site. The link takes you to the book hosted on the Wayback Machine.

This freely-available ebook describes digital signal processing. It covers a wide variety of topics, such as the Fourier transform, statistics, noise, and image processing.

SkyView is a Virtual Observatory on the Net generating images of any part of the sky at wavelengths in all regimes from Radio to Gamma-Ray.

The Sloan Digital Sky Survey has created the most detailed three-dimensional maps of the Universe ever made, with deep multi-color images of one third of the sky, and spectra for more than three million astronomical objects.