What is a Standard?
A standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines, or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes, and services are fit for their purpose. In other words, they establish uniform criteria for engineering methods, practices, product specifications, and performance.
It is usually represented by an acronym indicating the issuing organization following by a document number. A date may or may not be included:
- ANSI B152.2-1982
- ISO/IEC/IEEE 15288
- AS 9100D
Search for Standards
We strive to have standards relevant to the academic curriculum. However, many industry standards are unavailable due to vendor restrictions. The databases below may have the information you are seeking.
- AIAA Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text AIAA books, papers and journals in aviation and aerospace. - ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mechanical engineering research. - ASTM Compass This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to ASTM international standards, journals, and other publications.
- ICAO eLibraryFree read-only access to standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs) on international civil aviation, Conventions, and Related Acts. Please Note: Free registration is required for ICAO publication access.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to all IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions, and standards - SAE MOBILUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Previously SAE Digital Library. 175,000 technical papers, standards, ebooks, and related publications from SAE.
Some industry standards are provided for free through the American National Standards Institute. The links below provide a way to search for them.
- ANSI Standards Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal"The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)" developed by standards developing organizations such as ISO, IEC, and others.
Federal & Military Standards
- ASSIST Quick SearchOfficial source for specifications and standards used by the Department of Defense. Indexed documents include current and historical military and federal standards and specifications.
- EverySpecProvides free access to government and military standards, specifications, handbooks, and documents.
- NASA StandardsContains standards by discipline or by NASA Center.
- Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)Searchable full-text of U.S. government workplace safety standards and regulations.
- Standards.govBackground materials and useful links for locating information about the use of standards in government. Primary focus is on federal agency use of standards for regulatory and procurement purposes.