Search for Books
Featured Books
Spacecraft Thermal Control Handbook by
This practical handbook provides the reader with enough background and specific information to begin conducting thermal analysis and to participate in the thermal design of spacecraft systems. The book is a revised and updated edition of Satellite Thermal Control Handbook, published in 1994. The name change reflects the expanded scope of this work, which now includes thermal environments and design techniques for interplanetary spacecraft, in addition to the Earth-orbiting satellites that were the focus of the original handbook. The reader will now find an updated characterization of the thermal environment in Earth orbit, new material documenting the environments of interplanetary missions, more detailed information about each of the thermal control hardware elements found in the first edition, and presentation of some newer technologies such as heat switches and precision temperature control techniques.
Call Number: TL900.S595 2002ISBN: 9781884989117
Human Spacecraft Technologies by
This book offers essential information on China's human spacecraft technologies, reviewing their evolution from theoretical and engineering perspectives. It discusses topics such as the design of manned spaceships, cargo spacecraft, space laboratories, space stations and manned lunar and Mars detection spacecraft. It also addresses various key technologies, e.g. for manned rendezvous, docking and reentry. The book is chiefly intended for researchers, graduate students and professionals in the fields of aerospace engineering, control, electronics & electrical engineering, and related areas.
Call Number: TL875.Y16 2021ISBN: 9789811548970
Spacecraft Systems Engineering by
This fourth edition of the bestselling Spacecraft Systems Engineering title provides the reader with comprehensive coverage of the design of spacecraft and the implementation of space missions, across a wide spectrum of space applications and space science. The text has been thoroughly revised and updated, with each chapter authored by a recognized expert in the field. Three chapters - Ground Segment, Product Assurance and Spacecraft System Engineering - have been rewritten, and the topic of Assembly, Integration and Verification has been introduced as a new chapter, filling a gap in previous editions. This edition addresses 'front-end system-level issues' such as environment, mission analysis and system engineering, but also progresses to a detailed examination of subsystem elements which represents the core of spacecraft design. This includes mechanical, electrical and thermal aspects, as well as propulsion and control. This quantitative treatment is supplemented by an emphasis on the interactions between elements, which deeply influences the process of spacecraft design. Adopted on courses worldwide, Spacecraft Systems Engineering is already widely respected by students, researchers and practising engineers in the space engineering sector. It provides a valuable resource for practitioners in a wide spectrum of disciplines, including system and subsystem engineers, spacecraft equipment designers, spacecraft operators, space scientists and those involved in related sectors such as space insurance. In summary, this is an outstanding resource for aerospace engineering students, and all those involved in the technical aspects of design and engineering in the space sector.
Call Number: EP394 TL875.S68 2011ISBN: 9780470750124
The Space Environment by
The breakup of the Space Shuttle Columbia as it reentered Earth's atmosphere on February 1, 2003, reminded the public--and NASA--of the grave risks posed to spacecraft by everything from insulating foam to space debris. Here, Alan Tribble presents a singular, up-to-date account of a wide range of less conspicuous but no less consequential environmental effects that can damage or cause poor performance of orbiting spacecraft. Conveying a wealth of insight into the nature of the space environment and how spacecraft interact with it, he covers design modifications aimed at eliminating or reducing such environmental effects as solar absorptance increases caused by self-contamination, materials erosion by atomic oxygen, electrical discharges due to spacecraft charging, degradation of electrical circuits by radiation, and bombardment by micrometeorites. This book is unique in that it bridges the gap between studies of the space environment as performed by space physicists and spacecraft design engineering as practiced by aerospace engineers.
Call Number: TL1489.T75 2003ISBN: 9780691102993
Search for eBooks
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window Engineering publications from McGraw-Hill.
This link opens in a new window
- Ebook Central - Proquest (ERAU) This link opens in a new window Collection of ebooks covering various subjects including aviation and human factors.
- This link opens in a new window
- Ebook Central - Proquest (YLN) This link opens in a new window Collection of ebooks covering all subject areas. Note: This database is available through the Yavapai Library Network. Use your barcode number from the back of your Eagle Card. (Example - 21932000123456) If you need assistance with your 4 digit pin number, please contact our Circulation Desk at 928-777-3811.
- This link opens in a new window
- SAE MOBILUS This link opens in a new window Previously SAE Digital Library. 175,000 technical papers, standards, ebooks, and related publications from SAE.
- This link opens in a new window
- ENGnetBase CollectionCollection of over 4,320 books online, ENGnetBASE provides access to the latest handbooks in civil, mechanical, electrical, industrial, and mining engineering.
