LibGuides: Government Research and Resources: U.S. Government Research, Documents and Resources

Recommended Books

Fundamentals of Government Information: Mining, finding, evaluating, and using government resources by Cassandra J. Hartnett; Andrea L. Sevetson; Eric J. Forte
Call Number: ZA5055.U6F67 2016

ISBN: 9780838914205

Publication Date: 2016-06-09
An Insider's Guide to Working for the Federal Government by Dan Lindner
Call Number: JK692.L564 2020

ISBN: 9781641434027

Publication Date: 2020-10-01
Forecasting Government Budgets by Aman Khan; Kenneth A. Kriz
Call Number: HJ2053.A6K63 2023

ISBN: 9781793613103

Publication Date: 2022-12-15
The Declassification Engine by Matthew Connelly
Call Number: JK468.S4 C656 2023

ISBN: 9781101871577

Publication Date: 2023-02-14

Helpful Research Databases

Digital National Security Archive

Declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events from 1945 to the present.
- For more information, view Hazy Library's Digital National Security Archive database help guide.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)

Documents related to homeland security and cybersecurity policy, strategy and organizational management from sources including federal, state, and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar.
FedFlix
United States Government videos covering a variety of topics from various departments and agencies.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
U.S. government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business information from more than 200 U.S. government agencies.
NASA PubSpace
PubMed Central (PMC) is a full-text, online archive of peer-reviewed papers resulting from NASA-funded research. Subjects include earth and space science, materials, computing and electronics, fuels, radio communications, safety, and human health.
JSTOR
Under subjects, look for Political Science collection to narrow.
- Create a personal JSTOR account to get a Workspace where you can save and organize your research and come back to it at any time.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Share button, then click Email , copy the URL from the email message, and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.
ProQuest One Academic
Under included databases look for Political Science Database to narrow.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.

One Stop Places to Search for Government Documents and Info

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
This collection provides the public with access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress. By law, CRS works exclusively for Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation.
DATA.GOV
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
DiscoverGov
DiscoverGov provides simple, one-stop searching across multiple U.S. Federal Government databases including GPO's Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) and GovInfo.
Federal Depository Library Program: Arizona Locations
The mission of the FDLP is to disseminate information products from all three branches of the Government to over 1,250 libraries nationwide. Libraries that have been designated as Federal depositories maintain these information products as part of their existing collections and are responsible for assuring that the public has free access to the material provided by the FDLP.
Government Publishing Office
The official, digital, and secure source for producing, preserving, and distributing official Federal Government publications and information products for Congress, Federal agencies, and the American public.
Govinfo
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps, and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
National Archives
Links to government publications in the National Archives, gateways and guides to federal information, finding aids and indexes to government documents, federal directories, and other government publications.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative Federal science information including research and development results.
USA.gov
USA.gov searches only federal, state, and local government websites for the public. USA.gov only returns results from government web pages, most ending in .gov or .mil.
USA Spending
The official source for spending data for the U.S. Government. Search by budget function, agency, or object class.