LibGuides: News Sources: News Sources

New sources from the Library

Newspaper articles:

Access World News
With over 12,500 sources, research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources including the Arizona Daily Star.
NewsBank

Full-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers. Access World News also covers over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources. Spanish-language editions of the newspapers are also included.
Nexis Uni

News articles, legal cases, and company information.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic.

Search Tips
- Results are narrowed to the News category by default.
- Use the options in the Narrow By section on the left to further focus your results by Timeline, Publication Type, etc.
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “law reviews”
- Use the asterisk (*) to find variant endings of a root word: brief* will find brief, briefs, briefing, etc.
- Use connectors AND, OR, NOT to separate terms and phrases: "municipal code" AND violation*
- For help using and searching this database, click on Help in the upper right-hand corner or click the Search Tips link beneath the Search box on the homepage.
- For help finding particular types of documents (cases, statutory codes, regulations, etc.), use the Get a Doc Assistance link beneath the Search box on the homepage.
New York Times

Daily issues of The New York Times, including multimedia content and special features. Users must create a free account.
- Users must create an account and login.
- Accounts expire after a certain amount of time but can be renewed.
- Older articles (1851- 2018) can be viewed in the Timesmachine.
- Current articles (2018-present) are also available in the library’s ProQuest Central database.
- To create a shareable link to an article, click the Share full article button, then click Copy Link.

Wall Street Journal
Access is through ProQuest. Full-text back to 1984.
Washington Post
Access is through ProQuest. Full text back to December 1996.

In-depth coverage:

CQ Researcher

In-depth research reports on national and global issues including social trends, criminal justice, politics, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Get Link button.
Issues & Controversies
Up-to-date, in-depth, and objective information on current controversial issues. Combines authoritative factual analysis with clear explanations of opposing points of view.
Opposing Viewpoints
Access to In Context: Opposing Viewpoints ceased on June 30, 2025.

Video sources:

PBS Video
Select PBS episodes from series such as Masterpiece, FRONTLINE, American Experience, Secrets of the Dead, Austin City Limits, Need To Know, NOVA, NATURE, and Independent Lens.
PBS POV Video
Select full-length films from this acclaimed PBS documentary film series.

Arizona Memory Project Digital Library

Arizona Historical Digital Newspapers
"The Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records has the largest collection of historic Arizona newspapers in the state spanning from the first Arizona newspaper published in 1859, to current titles. Not all titles are digitized. Print materials are viewable in our Reading Room located at the Polly Rosenbaum Archives and History Building."

BBC Reports

BBC Monitoring Africa
Covers Aug 1, 2003 - present
BBC Monitoring Americas
Covers Aug 1, 2003 - present
BBC Monitoring Asia Pacific
Covers Aug 1, 2003 - present
BBC Monitoring Central Asia
Covers Jul 20, 1998 - present
BBC Monitoring European
Covers Aug 1, 2003 - present
BBC Monitoring Former Soviet Union
Covers Aug 1, 2003 - present
BBC Monitoring Middle East
Covers Aug 1, 2003 - present
BBC Monitoring South Asia
Covers Aug 1, 2003 - present

Coverage for each region does goes further back in different formats covering political and economic issues. Those older issues as well as reports on media and newsfile can be found by going directly to:

ProQuest Central

Provides citations, abstracts, and some full-text items covering all subject areas including business and economic journals, magazines, trade, and journals in psychology and computing.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.