Articles/Databases - AS 311 Aircraft Engines - Turbines - LibGuides at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Databases or Websites?

What is the difference?

Databases

Many are fee-based; the library pays to license them.
Are available to registered members of the library.
Focus on a specific body of information (i.e. Aeronautics, Engineering)
May contain articles, books, gov documents, maps, technical reports.
Contain information written by professional writers and subject experts.

Websites

Are searched with search engines such as Google, Yahoo, or Ask.com
Are generally freely accessible.
Are available to anyone with an internet access.
May NOT be current, updated, or show no date at all.
Can cover any topic at all.
Contain information written by anyone (convicts, teachers, children, students, or psychopaths).

REMEMBER: Most instructors want information from databases first. If needed, use the Web to supplement your research (after making sure the Web sources are good).

Key Databases

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database

Provides citations, abstracts and some full text articles to aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, meteorology, communications and space sciences journal articles, conference proceedings, NASA documents, and technical reports.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.
AIAA Aerospace Research Central (ARC)

Journals, ebooks and papers published by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
- Users can only view standards online in the HTML viewer. We do not have PDF access.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.
Google Scholar
Locates articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, etc. from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other scholarly-focused web sites.
Janes

Provides full-text access to All the World's Aircraft, Aero-Engines, Airport Review, International Defense Review, News Module, and more.
Good to Know
- Please click Log out in the upper right of the screen when finished.
Search Tips
- Click the Products tab at the right, then Air & Space. To narrow results filter under Publication/Section to see Jane's All the World's Aircraft, All the World's Aircraft: Development & Production, and All the World's Aircraft: In Service.
- Use the Search box on the home page to search all of the database's content.
- For help using and searching in the database, click the question mark symbol in the top center and click View Help.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
Full-text NASA documents.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
U.S. government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business information from more than 200 U.S. government agencies.
ScienceDirect

Scholarly journals and ebooks in the areas of physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.
Transportation Research Board of the National Academies
Provides complete (full text) access to the full compilation of papers published in the Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board (TRR Journal). TRB's journal contains technical papers peer-reviewed by TRB committee members. Included are selected papers from the TRB Annual Meetings, along with some papers from other sources and conferences.

EAGLEsearch

Other Useful Databases

ProQuest One Academic

Four core multi-disciplinary content sets - ProQuest Central articles, Academic Complete eBook Collection, Academic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global – can now be searched together.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.
RefWorks
Designed to help researchers gather, manage, and store research information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

AS 311 Aircraft Engines - Turbines: Articles/Databases

Databases or Websites?

Key Databases

EAGLEsearch

Other Useful Databases