Aviation Business
Resources on the "Companies & Industries" page will also provide information on aviation and aerospace, but these resources are very specific to business research and data relating to these industries.
Researching the Aviation Industry (incl. airlines, airports, market research, etc.)
Airlines; manufacturers; air cargo; traffic; company, market and industry data. For data on specific aircraft, see Aircraft Data box.
- Aviation Week Intelligence Network This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text aviation/aerospace/homeland security news articles. - CAPA Centre for Aviation This link opens in a new windowComprehensive market analysis and data on airlines and airports.
- Cirium (previously FlightGlobal) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text air transport articles; detailed information on airlines, airports, and aircraft. - ICAO Data+ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International airline and airport statistics. - Space Report Online This link opens in a new windowProvides a broad scope of datasets and information including launch statistics, satellite deployments, mission segments, global space economy, space infrastructure, space workforce, and space products and services.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowOver 1 million industry statistics covering 80,000 topics. Provides reports for political & society, country, digital & trends, consumer, industry, political & society, and brands & companies. In addition, provide industry and country outlooks, plus more.
- Aviation & Aircraft Industries Market Outlooks (Boeing)Boeing's team creates reports on the following markets: Commercial, Defense & Space, Services, Pilot & Technician, World Air Cargo, and Aircraft Finance.
- Airline Data Project (MIT.edu)From the Global Airline Industry Program at MIT. Updated June of each year using Form 41 data files by the U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics. "The ADP presents the most important airline industry data in one location in an easy-to-understand, user-friendly format."
- IATA Economics ReportsThese reports and outlooks "provide analysis of economic and policy developments affecting the financial performance of the global airline industry."
Aircraft Data
Values, specs, performance. For traffic, see Industry box. For detailed costs (maintenance, fuel, crew...), refer to Databases with Restricted Access box for information on Conklin & de Decker Report.
- Jane's All The World's Aircraft (IHS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Log in with your ERAU email address. Limited to five users at a time. Please click Logout when finished.
All the World's Aircraft modules: In Service, Development & Production, and Unmanned are available under the Products Menu (on right) under "View All."
Government and Association Websites
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics (.gov)Countless data on airports, airlines, freight, safety, environment and economics.
- Department of Transportation - Aviation (.gov)Airline and airport statistics, air travel consumer reports, and links to FAA sites.
- DOT DataDatasets, charts, and reports by transportation mode or topic.
Scholarly Journals and Articles
- Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on aeronautics, astronautics, space sciences, electronics, emerging technologies, and more. - AIAA Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text AIAA books, papers and journals in aviation and aerospace.
- Transportation Science (INFORMS journal)1998-Present available online
Library Databases with Restricted Access
These resources are ONLY available from the computer kiosk across from the first floor printer alcove. Ask a librarian if you need assistance. The Conklin & de Decker Report requires a password that must be entered by a staff member.
- Conklin & de Decker Aircraft Performance Comparator
Note: Shortcut to software on desktop.
Provides complete and comparable aircraft specifications, as well as essential performance data by means of charts, graphs, illustrations, and tables for more than 300 aircraft including Jets, Turboprops, Pistons, and Helicopters.
- Conklin & de Decker Report (previously Aircraft Cost Evaluator)
Note: Shortcut to webpage is on desktop. This resource is password protected. Contact a staff member for access.
Provides operating cost data for more than 500 aircraft including Jets, Turboprops, Helicopters, and Pistons and is available in the Hazy Library. Using the Aircraft Cost Evaluator you have access to the following:
- Direct Costs, Fixed Costs, & Annual Budget Data
- Fractional aircraft ownership data
- Relative aircraft operating costs
- Quick cost comparisons for up to 3 aircraft at one time
- General aircraft performance comparisons
- Reports tailored to use your local costs and salaries
- Flexibility to specify the currencies and measurements that apply
- Teal International Defense BriefingNote: This resource is only available in the Library at the Quick Print Kiosk< /br>
Provides reports tracking the status and outlook of the international defense budgets, arms imports and weapons markets markets for over 130 countries.except for the United States. - Teal World Power Systems Briefing Aero Gas TurbineNote: This resource is only available in the Library at the Quick Print Kiosk
Provides status and outlook of the aero gas turbine industry through comprehensive overviews and forecasts. The market overviews contain insights on the turbofan, turboprop, turbojet, turbo shaft and aero APU markets, with detailed annual summaries and 10-year market forecasts. - Teal World Power Systems Briefing Aero Gas TurbineNote: This resource is only available in the Library at the Quick Print Kiosk
Provides status and outlook of the aero gas turbine industry through comprehensive overviews and forecasts. The market overviews contain insights on the turbofan, turboprop, turbojet, turbo shaft and aero APU markets, with detailed annual summaries and 10-year market forecasts.
