Select New Books
The Enlightened Capitalists by Call Number: HC102.5.A2O85 2019ISBN: 9780062880246Publication Date: 2019-02-26Business ethics, social responsibility, leadership
The B Corp Handbook: how you can use business as a force for good by Call Number: HD60.H655 2019ISBN: 9781523097531Publication Date: 2019-04-23
Better Business: how the B corp movement is remaking capitalism by Call Number: HD60.M37 2020ISBN: 9780300247152Publication Date: 2020-09-13
More Resources on Current Issues
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. - Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text research information in a pro-and-con format on current social topics.
- World Economic Forum Strategic IntelligenceAn interactive visualization tool that draws connections between global issues. Good starting point for topic brainstorming. Sign up for free for fuller access.
Issues in Business and Economics (Sustainability, Social Responsibility, etc.)
These publications focus on the relationship between business and society, including the social impact of business and cross sector research and the effects of societal and civil issues on business, industry, and the economy.
Reports, Research, and White Papers
- Brookings Institution Research Reports"The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level."
- Business for Social Responsibility (BSR.org)Reports and case studies on a variety of topics relating to social responsibility and sustainability. BSR is a global non-profit whose "mission is to work with business to create a just and sustainable world".
- CSR Reports (The Corporate Social Responsibility Newsire)Provides links to recently published, non-financial Corporate Social Responsibility and Sustainability reports, as well as corporate press releases about these reports.
- Kenan Institute of Private Enterprise (UNC Chapel Hill Kenan-Flager Business School)Business policy think tank that publishes white papers, analysis, and surveys on current business issues.
- National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS) (Urban Institute)Open data platform "designed as a portal for nonprofit practitioners, researchers, and policymakers to download and explore data."
- PEW Research CenterA nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
- RAND Corporation ResearchProvides over 20,000 free reports on issues including energy, education, health care, justice, the environment, international affairs, and national security. "The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis."
- Reports by Human Rights WatchReports and publications investigate human rights abuses. Filter by keyword, geography, or topic. "To ensure our independence, we refuse government funding and carefully review all donations to ensure that they are consistent with our policies, mission, and values."
- SSIR WebsiteLimited additional free content on the SSIR site, plus options to sign up for a free weekly newsletter and RSS feed.
- Stanford Social Innovation Review (SSIR)Access provided by library database. "Informing and inspiring leaders of social change."
- Urban InstituteNonprofit research organization providing data and reports on social and political issues.
- World BankScroll down the homepage to find: data (by country), development projects (by country), and research/publications (use the blue search bar to find your country).
Blogs, Digests, and Insights
While not peer-reviewed academic research, blogs and digests can be great starting points to uncover current and interesting research topics whose breadcrumbs often lead to solid, reputable data sources.
- Dirt Diggers Digest"Chronicling corporate misbehavior (and how to research it)". From the non-profit Corporate Research Project.
- The Corporate Social Responsibility NewswireContains reports, news, and press releases on corporate social responsibility and sustainability, including company reports.
- Knowledge@WhartonOnline business analysis publication, by The Wharton School of The University of Pennsylvania. Includes insights and white papers.
- Human Rights WatchNews, reports, and multimedia on human rights abuses around the globe relating to a variety of sectors. If interested, sign up for their Daily Brief email.
Search Strategies
Incorporate keywords relating to corporate responsibility in addition to the company or industry name you are researching.
Keywords/phrases to consider:
- Corporate social responsibility (CSR)
- Corporate responsibility
- Social responsibility
- Socially responsible (often used in terms of investing, funds, or stocks)
- Corporate sustainability
- ESG (Environmental, Social and Governance) ratings
Example searches with Boolean operators:
- Southwest Airlines AND (social* OR corporate) AND responsib*
Tip: Ending a word with * asks the search engine to produce all possible endings of a word in your search results. Responsib* should include both responsibility and responsible. Social* includes social and socially.
Company Rankings and Indexes
- MSCI Socially Responsible Investing (SRI) IndexesDetails and resources on how company ESG (Environmental, Social and Governance) ratings are given, including methodology and further research.
- Better Business Bureau (BBB)The BBB has hosted forums on CSR and sustainable business strategies. Search for businesses by categories in particular geographic areas to find well rated firms.
- Further corporate responsibility researchThis Library of Congress research guide contains dozens of additional resources for company ratings, rankings, and profiles on corporate and social responsibility.
Researching Corporate Misconduct
- Guide to Strategic Corporate Research (Dirt Diggers Digest)From the non-profit Corporate Research Project, this guide covers resources and strategies for how to research corporate misbehavior and violations.
- Violation Tracker"Violation Tracker is the first wide-ranging database on corporate misconduct." Includes cases resolved by many federal and state regulatory agencies since 2000, as well as employment-related class actions.