What's an industry code?
Non-Profit Organizations
- Cause IQDirectory for nonprofit and charity organizations with summary info as well as financial and grant data, personnel, and news.
- Nonprofit Explorer (ProPublica)Database for nonprofit tax returns and full Form 990 documents.
Company and Industry Reports and Data (Library Databases)
- Business Insights This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to company profiles and histories, brands, rankings, investment reports, chronologies, industry information, and more. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, business related journals. Includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals. - Cirium (previously FlightGlobal) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text air transport articles; detailed information on airlines, airports, and aircraft. - Mergent Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to industry ratios, trends and company/industry ratio comparisons. - Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text company/industry information including financial statistics and annual reports. - Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes news articles, legal cases, and company information. - Statista This link opens in a new windowOver 1 million industry statistics covering 80,000 topics. Provides reports for political & society, country, digital & trends, consumer, industry, political & society, and brands & companies. In addition, provide industry and country outlooks, plus more.
- Data Axle (formerly ReferenceUSA)Provided through the Arizona State Library. Enter your AZ zip-code for access. Great resource for entrepreneurship and market research. Directory of U.S. businesses with quick details on sales volume, employees, business types, executive titles, etc. "The U.S. Business database contains a total of 64 million businesses including 16 million verified and 48 million unverified businesses that are updated weekly."
Government-Collected Data
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (.gov)Data and reports on unemployment, career outlooks, earnings by industry, workplace injuries, etc.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis (.gov)Economic data for countries and industries.
- Data.govEven more U.S. government data on a variety of topics, including energy, manufacturing, science & research, and public safety.
- Company financials - EDGAR (SEC.gov)U.S. public companies must file financial reports with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Some private companies will file as well. This database (EDGAR) allows you to find them in one place.
- Export.govSearch for a country or industry in the main search box to find market intelligence reports, export guides, and more.
- Census Data (.gov)Use the Advanced Search to browse topics, search by industry code, and more.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1879-2012Useful for historical data
Financial Ratios
- Business Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to company profiles and histories, brands, rankings, investment reports, chronologies, industry information, and more. - Mergent Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to industry ratios, trends and company/industry ratio comparisons. - Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text company/industry information including financial statistics and annual reports. - Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access "Menu" at the top left of the home page, then go to Company Dossiers to locate company-specific information and data, including financial ratios.
Explore Research Topics
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. - Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text research information in a pro-and-con format on current social topics.
- World Economic Forum Strategic IntelligenceAn interactive visualization tool that draws connections between global issues. Good starting point for topic brainstorming. Sign up for free for fuller access.
Researching Corporate Misconduct
- Guide to Strategic Corporate Research (Dirt Diggers Digest)From the non-profit Corporate Research Project, this guide covers resources and strategies for how to research corporate misbehavior and violations.
- Violation Tracker"Violation Tracker is the first wide-ranging database on corporate misconduct." Includes cases resolved by many federal and state regulatory agencies since 2000, as well as employment-related class actions.
Other Data Sources
Supply Chain
- MarineTraffic map (.com)"MarineTraffic is the world’s leading provider of ship tracking and maritime intelligence. We are dedicated to making actionable information easily accessible."
Safety
- Injury Facts (National Safety Council)Data includes injuries related to work, motor vehicles, and home/community. International and state injury overviews also available.